Band Members & Bio

Light is a Progressive Rock band based out of Ohio and is comprised of Shadowbox Live musicians from both Columbus, OH and Los Angeles, CA. The band was founded in 2010 when Shadowbox Live and BalletMet collaborated on a new work entitled 7 Deadly Sins. The goal of the project was for Shadowbox Live to create and perform the music of a full-length ballet, written in a contemporary style using modern rock instruments. As soon as the planning began Light was born.

Following the success of 7 Deadly Sins, Light spent 12 days in 2012 creating and performing a second piece entitled The Masque that was based on the works of Edgar Allan Poe and performed as a symphony with narrative. The album was recorded on a Friday. The Masque premiered as a completed work with Verb Ballets on November 1st, 2013 in Cleveland, OH to a sold out house and paved the way for the Columbus premiere presented by CAPA at The Palace Theatre on May 15th, 2014.

During January of 2013, Light began writing its third musical piece, Gallery of Echoes a collaboration with the Columbus Museum of Art to write and perform 21 songs about 21 different works from the museum’s permanent collection. Gallery of Echoes premiered with its massive 27’ x 9’ screen to great success at the end of April 2014 and returned for an extended run in the Fall of 2014.

Throughout 2014 and most of 2015, the band was tasked with composing an original musical based on the ancient Japanese folk tale “Tenshu Monogatari”. Working closely with Hiromi Sakamoto and a number of other local and international collaborators, The Tenshu grew into the largest international performance collaboration in local Columbus history. Premiering in October of 2015, The Tenshu ran for a non-stop 3 week run to a nearly sold out audience base, shattering monetary and attendance expectations.

While Light continues to stoke the flames of these projects, they are already deep into writing a new, full-length performance work scheduled to premiere at the Columbus Arts Festival in the Summer of 2016 called Gallery of Echoes : The Columbus Public Art Project.

Stev Guyer
Stev Guyer
Keys, Guitar, Percussion
Matthew Hahn
Matthew Hahn
Gabriel Guyer
Gabriel Guyer
Brandon Smith
Brandon Smith

Additional Composition by :
Jennifer Hahn for Keys on 7 Deadly Sins, The Masque and Gallery of Echoes: The CMA Experience
Kevin Patrick Sweeney for Keys on The Tenshu
Dante Wehe for Guitar on The Masque, Gallery of Echoes: The CMA Experience, and The Tenshu

Audio Engineering by :
Brian Kozicki for Live Engineering
Brian Rau for SFX, Studio & Live Engineering

For Additional Musicians please see the specific project pages below


The Tenshu

Gallery of Echoes : The CMA Experience

The Masque

7 Deadly Sins

Mobile Version